Montane Spine Race 2017 – Day 2

Day 2 – 16 January 2017

Day two of Britain’s most brutal race

Pavel Paloncý and Eugeni Rosello Sole lead the 268-mile Montane Spine Race overall, while Carol Morgan leads the women’s race. Sarah Davies wins the 108-mile Montane Spine Challenger women’s race. The 108-mile Montane Spine MRT (Mountain Rescue Team) Challenge race finishes at 2am, Tuesday, 17 January.

Follow the Montane Spine Race live here


Hawes, Yorkshire Dales, England, Monday, 16 January 2017

Montane Spine Race

Despite a 30-minute time penalty, Pavel Paloncý (CZE) and Eugeni Rosello Sole (ESP) are the joint leaders of the Montane Spine Race as Britain’s most brutal race heads into a second night.


Montane Spine Race leaders Paloncý & Rosello Sole. Image © Yann Besrest-Butler

The Montane Spine Race is a 268-mile footrace along the Pennine Way, England’s oldest and generally thought to be toughest, National Trail in winter.

The two previous race-winners broke away from 2016 winner and course record-holder Eoin Keith (IRL) within the first two hours of the start on Sunday.

Keith was often only 1-2km behind them during the night. But as dawn broke on Monday morning they began opening up a gap, with Keith saying he was suffering from the sleep monsters as he climbed Pen-y-Ghent (2,277ft/694m) in the Yorkshire Dales National Park.


Image © Yann Besrest-Butler

At 1:38pm, Paloncý and Rosello Sole reached the race’s second major check point (CP) at Hawes, 108 miles into the race. They left after just eight minutes, with Keith arriving an hour later.

The Irishman slept at the CP for about two hours, leaving at around 6pm. By that time however, Tom Hollins (GBR) had arrived and left. Overtaking Keith in doing so, moving into third place.

In a further twist, when Paloncý and Rosello Sole arrived at Hawes, they were served with a time penalty, for inadvertently shortcutting the course during the night (which provided a 20-minute competitive advantage).

Their unauthorised route was judged to have benefited them by approximately 20 minutes and the race directors punished the two runners with a 30-minute time sanction (20 minutes that they gained and a further 50% of this time – 10 minutes).

Paloncý and Rosello Sole have chosen to serve the stop-and-go penalty at CP3, Middleton-in-Teesdale, later tonight, during which they won’t be allowed to access the checkpoint facilities.

Meanwhile they are being pursued through the night by Hollins and Keith. Keith has had a sleep. None of the three ahead of him have yet.

Carol Morgan (GBR), who has previously won the Montane Lakeland 100 and the Fellsman ultramarathons, leads the women’s race, from Helene Dumais (CAN). Morgan is seventh overall in the race, clearly running with great strength.

DSC_3153 (lo-res for web)

Image © Mick Kenyon

There have been 14 retirements so far.

Montane Spine Challenger and Montane Spine MRT Challenge

The 108-mile Montane Spine Challenger women’s race was won by Sarah Davies (GBR) in a time of 27:53. Emily Ledder (GBR) was second in 46:07 and Jane Carpenter (GBR) third in 52:38. The race ends at 10pm, 16 January.


Image © Yann Besrest-Butler

The Montane Spine MRT Challenge women’s race was won by Ella Corrick (GBR), in 58:18.

Dominic Layfield’s (US) new record for the Montane Spine Challenger is now confirmed at 28:00.

Summary of race winners:

  • Montane Spine Challenger (M): 28:00, Dominic Layfield (US)
  • Montane Spine Challenger (F): 37:53, Sarah Davies (GBR)
  • Montane Spine MRT Challenge (M): 33:40, Alasdair Cowell (GBR)
  • Montane Spine MRT Challenge (F): 58:18, Ella Corrick (GBR)

Current race leaders:

  • Montane Spine Race (M): Pavel Paloncý (CZH)/Eugeni Rosello Sole (ESP)
  • Montane Spine Race (F): Carol Morgan (GBR)

WATCH EPISODE #4 of the Montane Spine Race TV daily update:

Montane Spine Race Episode 4 video pic

EPISODE #4 – Focus on Montane Spine Race frontrunners Paloncý, Rosello Sole


Follow the Montane Spine Race live here

Comments are closed here.